[ Message Archive | GraniteCityGossip ]

    Re: Eliminating the Recorder's Office Archived Message

    Posted by 3Dee on January 2, 2018, 3:58 pm, in reply to "Re: Eliminating the Recorder's Office"

    It's not just Madison County.

    There is Roxana High School and Wood River High School -- but East Alton, Roxana, Wood River and others have separate elementary districts.

    I see this in other counties ... some with Democratic leans, others with Republicans.

    i like your idea about dealing with the southwest corner of the county.

    When I was more optimistic -- I would have said...don't think of the desolation that is being taken, but of the opportunity and location that can be advantageous.

    However, St. Louis is a mess and if it's a mess, location ceases to be as advantageous as it would be if it were booming.

    But not only the SW corner -- but Madison County could divide into seven municipalities ---- with six central cities and one city that is kind of rural.

    1. Alton (Godfrey, East Alton)
    2. Wood River (Roxanas, Bethalto..)
    3. Granite City (Madison, Venice, Pontoon)
    4. Collinsville (Maryville, Troy)
    5. Edwardsville (Glen Carbon..Holiday Shores)
    6. Highland (Marine, Pierron)
    7. Rural North East (Hamel, Alhambra, Worden..)

    So you have seven seats of government and administration -- and the municipalities are the areas served.

    There's nothing that says villages cannot have some identity -- or a volunteer committee or things like that for homecomings and special events. It's just that the municipality would be the provider of services.

    I'm not as optimistic as I used to be --- but I believe this could solifify the region.

    St. Clair could do the same --- Make 8 towns...

    1. ESL (Centreville, Alorton, Brooklyn, Wash. Park, Brooklyn)

    2. Cahokia, Dupo

    3. Belleville, Millstadt, Swansea

    4. Caseyville, Fairmont, State Park Place...

    5. Fairview Heights, O'Fallon, Shiloh

    6. Lebanon, Mascoutah

    7. Freeburg, Smithton, Fayetteville

    8. South of Kaskaskia basically --- New Athens, Marissa..

    There you have it --- 15 Metro East municipalities serving over half a million people.

    Message Thread: