The reporting order is consequential to this rule.
So, the match begins when the wrestler reports in the proper order. And, once having reported in the proper order, a wrestler cannot be withdrawn without being disqualified. So, here are the possibilities in your scenario:
Assume A is required to check in first per the premeet coin flip.
1) B reports to the table first, then A reports. B is then withdrawn and replaced by B1. This is allowable without any penalty.
2) A reports to the table first, then B reports. B is withdrawn and the coach/dad wants B1 to wrestle A instead. B loses by disqualification and A wins by forfeit (quirk in the rules actually results in separate outcomes for each wrestler in conjunction with one match). Technically, by rule, neither wrestler is allowed to wrestle without 45 minutes rest since both have participated in a match.
Now of course, we frequently see this type of arrangement occur in dual meets - Red receives a forfeit, then out comes Green to wrestle an exhibition match against Red (e.g., Green was overweight but the coaches want the two kids to square off). Does this adhere to the rules? No, but we all do it, even By the Book. It's one of those timeless traditions/standards we don't bother to change.
« Back to index | View thread »