This appears to be mistaken. SoDak lost electrical power briefly at NavBat Guadalcanal, although her AR says her turrets functioned during the battle. I'm sure others will have more information on this matter--I'm certainly not an expert on it.
But, Prados' narrative is quite vague here (p. 149) in its details and wording. He doesn't mention SoDak not being able to fire at NavBat Guadalc explicitly, but only refers to another engagement a month later...Not at all sure why he would write it this way.
And it's not the only section of ISLANDS OF DESTINY
w/which one might quibble.
The book contains little nuggets of what appear to be valid hard data intermixed with some questionable assertions & judgements, along w/odd narrative lapses.
I was reading “Islands of Destiny” when I can across as claim I had never heard before. The South Dakota took a 250kg bomb on #1 turret which damaged the roller train to the extent that SoDak could not use #1 turret during the Naval Battle of Guadalcanal in November. Has anyone else ever come across this claim?